The township of Burra is an amalgamation of several smaller settlements clustered around the copper mines of the district. Most prominent of the towns was Kooringa; followed by Redruth, Alma Aberdeen and Llwchwr. All denominations were represented, reflecting the background of the miners and settlers alike.

As the history of the churches have developed through time, divided between denominations and in various locations, their history has been presented in the chart above.

Please click on any of the icons - † to see what event happened within that denomination at that time. You will also be able to find out what was happening in other denominations, simultaneously.